EUPL 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 European Union Prize for Literature were announced today. They are: Christophe Van Gerrewey (Belgium), Tanja Stupar-Trifunović (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Antonis Georgiou (Cyprus), Bjørn Rasmussen (Denmark), Paavo Matsin (Estonia), Selja Ahava (Finland), Nenad Joldeski (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Benedict Wells (Germany), Gast Groeber (Luxembourg), Claudiu M. Florian (Romania), Jasmin B. Frelih (Slovenia) and Jesús Carrasco (Spain).

The European Union Prize for Literature is open to countries participating in Creative Europe. Every year, national juries in one third of the participating countries – 12 this time – nominate the winning authors. Each winner receives €5,000 and benefits from extra promotion and international visibility at Europe’s major book fairs, including Frankfurt, London and Paris.
Publishers are encouraged to apply for EU funding to have the winning books translated into other languages to reach new readers.

The winners will receive their awards during a public awards ceremony at Concert Noble in Brussels on 31 May, in the presence of Commissioner Tibor Navracsics; Mrs. Silvia Costa, MEP and Chair of the Culture and Education Committee and representatives of the Dutch Presidency of the EU.

The EUPL is organised by the European and International Booksellers Federation, the European Writers’ Council and the Federation of European Publishers, with the support of the European Commission.

More information about the award and the winners here.

Category: News and EventsNews


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *