Trafika Europe Radio, Sunday, 5 July: Rinny Gremaud, Natalka Bilotserkivets, Lâle Müldür, Anthony Anaxagorou

Trafika Europe Radio will see 5 new audio episodes of their literary livestream this Sunday, 5 July 2020 from noon EDT (5pm in London), with two full encores during the week!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White  – Ep 08, Sun 5 July noon EDT (5pm in London)

(1st encore Tue 7 July 10am London  •  2nd encore Thu 9 July noon EDT / 5pm in London)

Conversations on contemporary fiction in translation… and so much more..


Swiss Literature Today – Ep 08: Rinny Gremaud: In a World of Tat, Sun 5 July 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Switzerland)

(1st encore Tue 7 July 11am in London • 2nd encore Thu 9 July 1pm EDT / 6pm in London)

Swiss journalist Rinny Gremaud speaks with host Andrew Singer about Un monde en toc (In a World of Tat), her book exploring five shopping malls and their ecosystems – in Edmonton, Beijing, Kuala Lumpur, Dubai, and Casablanca. This series is made possible with support by the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York and Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia.


Women in Translation – Ep 08: Natalka Bilotserkivets – Ukrainian poet, Sun 5 July 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 9pm in Ukraine) (60 minutes)

(1st encore Tue 7 July noon in London • 2nd encore Thu 9 July 2pm EDT / 7pm in London)

Please note: this conversation is fully bilingual (Ukrainian / English), live-interpreted by Svitlana Budzhak-Jones

Ukrainian poet Natalka Bilotserkivets (Наталка Білоцерківець) speaks of her development as a poet in the former Soviet Union and following. She reads and discusses her poetry in light of a wide range of poetic influences. We talk about the role of political poetry, her poem, “May”, on the Chernobyl nuclear disaster, and how poetry functions in present-day Ukraine, including in the context of war. This is a reprise of a previously-presented Trafika Europe talk. Enjoy more poetry from Natalka Bilotserkivets in Trafika Europe 7 – Ukrainian Prayer, free online.


Turkish Sofa – Ep 08: Lâle Müldür – Turkish poet, Sun 5 July 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Turkey)

(1st encore Tue 7 July 1pm in London • 2nd encore Thu 9 July 3pm EDT / 8pm in London)

Lâle Müldür is considered one of the most influential Turkish poets of the last several decades. She speaks with host Erkut Tokman about her life and work.


Bowery Poetry Speaks – Ep 08: Anthony Anaxagorou – British poet, Sun 5 July 4pm EDT (9pm in London)

(1st encore Tue 7 July 2pm in London • 2nd encore Thu 9 July 4pm EDT / 9pm in London)

Anthony Anaxagorou is an award-winning British poet and performer of Cypriot origin whose works deal with themes of racism, history, and philosophy. He is founder and artistic director of Out-Spoken, a leading London monthly program of poetry and live music, and he serves as a mentor in poetry projects and schools around London. Hosted by Joe Williams; includes poetry, and music by Angelo Kangellaris.


Episodes may start one minute or more early or late. Please feel free to hang out in our music lounge between shows.
For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X