Trafika Europe Radio, Sunday 28 June: Pascal Janovjak, Iana Bukova, Kaya Genç, Patrick Lodge

Trafika Europe Radio will see 5 new audio episodes of their literary livestream this Sunday, 28 June 2020 from noon EDT (5pm in London), with two full encores during the week!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White  – Ep 07, Sun 28 June noon EDT (5pm in London)

(1st encore Tue 30 June 10am London  •  2nd encore Thu 2 July noon EDT / 5pm in London)

A series devoted to conversations about fiction from across Europe in English translation… and so much more.


Swiss Literature Today – Ep 07: Pascal Janovjak: The Rome Zoo, Sun 28 June 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Rome)

(1st encore Tue 30 June 11am in London • 2nd encore Thu 2 July 1pm EDT / 6pm in London)

Swiss-French-Slovakian author Pascal Janovjak speaks with host Andrew Singer about his novel, Le Zoo de Rome (© Actes Sud, 2019), detailing development of the Rome Zoo over the past century – and by extension our relations with animals and the natural world. The Rome Zoo is due out in English translation from Black Inc. in Autumn 2021. This series is supported by the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York and the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia.


Women in Translation – Ep 07: Iana Bukova: Travelling in the Direction of the Shadow, Sun 28 June 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 9pm in Bulgaria)

(1st encore Tue 30 June noon in London • 2nd encore Thu 2 July 2pm EDT / 7pm in London)

Host Tynan Kogane, editor at New Directions, speaks with Bulgarian author Iana Bukova and translator Ekaterina Petrova about their novel, Traveling in the Direction of the Shadow, which has been praised as one of the most innovative, compelling, erudite, idiosyncratic, and ambitious books to emerge out of the contemporary Bulgarian literary scene in recent years. This conversation was recorded at the Bulgarian Consulate General in New York.


Turkish Sofa – Ep 07: Kaya Genç: on Turkish literature, Sun 28 June 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Turkey)

(1st encore Tue 30 June 1pm in London • 2nd encore Thu 2 July 3pm EDT / 8pm in London)

Host Andrew Singer speaks with notable Turkish novelist, translator, editor, and journalist Kaya Genç, focusing on translation of contemporary and historical Turkish literature, as well as consideration of diaspora Turkish literature being written in English.


Bowery Poetry Speaks – Ep 07: Poet Patrick Lodge, Sun 28 June 4pm EDT (9pm in London/Ireland)

(1st encore Tue 30 June 2pm in London • 2nd encore Thu 2 July 4pm EDT / 9pm in London)

Poet Patrick Lodge was born in Wales, lives in Yorkshire, and travels on an Irish passport. Host Andrew Singer speaks with him about his life and work.


Episodes may start one minute or more earlier or later than the top of the hour. Please feel free to hang out in our music lounge between shows.
For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X