Trafika Europe Radio, 6 December 2020: discussions and readings from Christine Montalbetti, Wiesław Myśliwski, Murat Gülsoy, Alexander Ulanov, Alison Anderson

Trafika Europe Radio livestream on Sunday, 6 December 2020 has five great new audio episodes!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White

Sun 6 December noon EDT (5pm in London) (44 mins)

Host John O’Brien interviews exquisite French contemporary novelist Christine Montalbetti (published in English by Dalkey Archive Press). Includes a notably fine discussion on her literary technique and about her milieu with expert Warren Motte(This episode is a rebroadcast. We miss you, John.)


The Middle Ground

Sun 6 December 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Poland)

Enjoy Chapter 7 from A Treatise on Shelling Beans by Polish author Wiesław Myśliwski, performed by Kristen Miller. This work, and more fiction and poetry from Poland, is available in Trafika Europe 2 – Polish Nocturne, free online.


Turkish Sofa

Sun 6 December 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 10pm in Turkey) (37 mins)

Host Erkut Tokman talks with Clive Goodhead and Dr. Burcu Alkan about their translation of the novel Nisvan (Oblivion) by Turkish author Murat Gülsoy. Includes performances from the novel.


Bowery Poetry Speaks

Sun 6 December 3pm EDT (8pm in London, midnight in Samara, Russia) (23 mins)

Enjoy selections from Alexander Ulanov‘s experimental collection Between We, translated from Russian by Alexander Cigale, performed by Joe Williams. You can find these selections – and hundreds more pages of new literature from Russia – packed into Trafika Europe 13 – Russian Ballet, free online.


Women in Translation

Sun 6 December 4pm EDT (9pm in London, 10pm in France)

Writer and translator from French Alison Anderson speaks with host Abigail Haber about her translations of Onitsha (Bison Books), The Elegance of the Hedgehog (Europa Editions), and Pétronille (Europa Editions), performing excerpts from each bilingually, as well as discussing the landscape of literary translation today.


Episodes may start one minute or more early or late. And please hang out in our literary music lounge between shows to enjoy some great eclectic programming from across Europe.

For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X