Trafika Europe Radio, 4 October: John O’Brien, Bogdan Suceavă and Alistair Ian Blyth, Daniel Hahn, Çağla Meknuze, Patrícia Portela and Rahul Bery

Trafika Europe Radio is pleased to announce their season two launch on Sunday, 4 October 2020 with five great new audio episodes!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White

Sun 4 October noon EDT (5pm in London) (45 mins)

Host Andrew Singer interviews publisher John O’Brien, in this wide-ranging discussion about publishing European literature in English translation.


The Middle Ground

Sun 4 October 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 8pm in Romania) (45 mins)

Romanian author Bogdan Suceavă and translator Alistair Ian Blyth discuss some developments of Romanian language and history in the context of the short story, ‘The Miraculous Tale of Man’s Ascent to the Heavens‘. Includes a full audio reading of this story.


Bowery Poetry Speaks

Sun 4 October 2pm EDT (7pm in London and Portugal)

Translator Daniel Hahn speaks with host Joe Williams about My Plague Diary, a set of experimental literary pieces in Portuguese by Gonçalo M. Tavares. Includes readings from the work in translation. Excerpts of this work will be appearing in the forthcoming Trafika Europe 19 with focus on new literature from Spain and Portugal, due out in November.


Turkish Sofa

Sun 4 October 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Istanbul) (23 mins)

Çağla Meknuze speaks with host Alper Ağdaşan about her poetry, metaphors and allusions. She discusses her poetry through experiments abroad and in Turkey, as well as at poetry festivals, and we enjoy a cappella in English extracted from her poems and performed by the dancer Mairi Pardalaki.


Women in Translation

Sun 4 October 4pm EDT (9pm in London and Portugal)

Portuguese author and performer Patrícia Portela and translator Rahul Bery talk with host Joe Williams. The short story ‘Saturday’ will be included in Trafika Europe 19, an issue devoted to new Spanish and Portuguese writing, due out in November


Episodes may start one minute or more early or late; please feel free to hang out in our literary music lounge between shows.

For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X