Trafika Europe Radio, 29 November: John O’Brien, Andrea Jurjević, Eli Bensusan, Aspiring Waad and Umut Yalım, Michael F. Moore, Elvira Navarro

Trafika Europe Radio livestream on Sunday, 29 November 2020 has five great new audio episodes!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White

Sun 29 November noon EDT (5pm in London) (50 mins)

Host Andrew Singer interviews publisher John O’Brien, in this wide-ranging discussion about publishing European literature in English translation. (This episode is a rebroadcast)


The Middle Ground

Sun 29 November 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Croatia) (51 mins)

Croatian poet and translator Andrea Jurjević speaks with host Joe Williams about cultural issues and her translation of two recent poetry collections, Mamasafari (pub. Diálogos) by Olja Savičević and Dead Letter Office (pub. The Word Works) by Marko Pogačar, and we enjoy poems from each, bilingually.


Turkish Sofa

Sun 29 November 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 10pm in Turkey) (44 mins)

Host Erkut Tokman talks with three young poets: Eli Bensusan, Aspiring Waad and Umut Yalım from the İstanbul Poetry Slam Group, about their inspirations and New Young Poetry in İstanbul


Bowery Poetry Speaks

Sun 29 November 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 9pm in Italy) (51 mins)

Translator from Italian Michael F. Moore discusses his translation of The Animal Gazer (pub. New Vessel Press) by Edgardo Franzosini and The Betrothed (due out from Random House) by Alessandro Manzoni, and his work heading the PEN/Heim Translation Fund. We also enjoy a chapter from The Animal Gazer performed by episode host Aliah Showkatian.


Women in Translation

Sun 29 November 4pm EDT (9pm in London, 10pm in Spain) (33 minutes)

Spanish author Elvira Navarro discusses her work with host Joe Williams, focusing on her short story collection, Rabbit Island (due out from Two Lines Press, tr. Christina MacSweeney) and we enjoy a reading from this work.


Episodes may start one minute or more early or late; please feel free to hang out in our literary music lounge between shows.

For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X