Trafika Europe Radio, 26 July: Jacques Roubaud, Judith Keller, José Luís Peixoto, Tamer Gülbek and Leta Semadeni

Trafika Europe Radio will see five new audio episodes of their literary livestream this Sunday, 26 July 2020 from noon EDT (5pm in London), with two full encores during the week!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White, Ep 11 – On Jacques Roubaud’s The Great Fire of London

Sun 26 July noon EDT (5pm in London, 6pm in France) (52 mins)

Following his wife’s unexpected death, living in a world only of her absence, Jacques Roubaud began a novel he wasn’t able to finish. The Great Fire of London became the novel that he did then write. Jean-Jacques Poucel and Warren Motte discuss this novel with host John O’Brien.


Swiss Literature Today, Ep 11 – Judith Keller: The Questionable Ones

Sun 26 July 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Switzerland)

Swiss-German author Judith Keller speaks with host Andrew Singer about her collection of micro-fictions, The Questionable Ones, with characters clustered around seven Zurich tram stops. This series enjoys support from the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York and Swiss arts council Pro Helvetia.


Bowery Poetry Speaks, Ep 11 – José Luís Peixoto: Autobiografia

Sun 26 July 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 8pm in Portugal) (56 mins)

Nobel Laureate José Saramago called José Luís Peixoto “one of the most surprising revelations in recent Portuguese literature.” He speaks with host Joe Williams about his experimental novel Autobiografia. Includes a premiere excerpt of this novel in English – with a longer passage due out in Trafika Europe 19, in late 2020.


Turkish Sofa, Ep 11 – Tamer Gülbek – Turkish poet

Sun 26 July 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Turkey) (37 minutes)

Turkish poet, translator and critic Tamer Gülbek speaks with host Erkan Karakiraz about his approaches to poetry as personal experience and as criticism. Includes readings of his poetry.


Women in Translation, Ep 11 – Leta Semadeni: Romansch poetry and Tamangur

Sun 26 July 4pm EDT (9pm in London, 10pm in Switzerland) (76 minutes)

Swiss author Leta Semadeni, in conversation with translator Tess Lewis, discusses and reads her poetry from German and Rhaeto-Romanic, and from her first novel, Tamangur. Together they explore some intricacies of the Romansch minority language family, its relation with German, her poetic inspiration for writing, the experience of writing simultaneously both in this rare language and in German, and growing up in such a culture in Switzerland. This is a reprise of a talk recorded previously in Deutsches Haus at New York University. You can read an excerpt from Tamangur and a selection of the author’s poems in Trafika Europe 11, free online right here.


If you miss these episodes on Sunday, there are two full encores during the week:

“Eastern encore” – Tuesday 28 July from 10am in London, 6pm in Tokyo, 7pm in Sydney,

Second encore – Thursday 30 July from noon in New York, 5pm in London

Episodes may start one minute or more early or late. Please feel free to hang out in our music lounge between shows.
For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X