Trafika Europe Radio, 19 July: Jacques Roubaud, Max Lobe, Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones, Cem Uzungüneş and Constantin Severin

Trafika Europe Radio will see five new audio episodes of their literary livestream this Sunday, 19 July 2020 from noon EDT (5pm in London), with two full encores during the week!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White, Ep 10 – On Jacques Roubaud’s Some Thing Black

Sun 19 July noon EDT (5pm in London, 6pm in France)

Jean-Jacques Poucel discusses with publisher John O’Brien the collection of prose poems Some Thing Black by Jacques Roubaud, published by Dalkey Archive Press in English translation by Rosmarie Waldrop.


Swiss Literature Today, Ep 10 – Max Lobe: A Long Way from Douala

Sun 19 July 1:00pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Switzerland)

Swiss-Cameroonian author Max Lobe speaks with host Andrew Singer about his latest novel A Long Way from Douala, out in English translation by Ros Schwartz from HopeRoad Publishing in 2021. This wide-ranging discussion touches on Black Lives Matter, emigration and internal displacement in Cameroon, Boko Haram and religious fanaticism, “Camfranglais” and colonial aspects of language, models of masculinity and friendship, and what it feels like to be Black and gay today. Includes excerpts in French and English. This series is possible with kind support from the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York and Swiss arts council Pro Helvetia.


Women in Translation, Ep 10 – Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones: on European minority languages

Sun 19 July 2:00pm EDT (7pm in London & Wales) (57 minutes)

Elin Haf Gruffydd Jones is Professor of Linguistic Diversity and Creative Industries at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David and a member of the Council of Europe’s Expert Group on Media for the European Charter for Regional and Minority Languages. She speaks with host Mohini Gupta about European minority languages. This conversation aired originally in the #TranslationThursdays series of Mother Tongue Twisters.


Turkish Sofa, Ep 10 – Cem Uzungüneş, Turkish poet

Sun 19 July 3:00pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Turkey) (47 minutes)

Turkish poet, translator and essayist Cem Uzungüneş speaks with host Erkan Karakiraz about his life and work. Includes readings of his poetry.


Bowery Poetry Speaks, Ep 10 – Constantin Severin, Romanian poet

Sun 19 July 4:00pm EDT (9pm in London, 10pm in Italy)

Romanian poet and artist Constantin Severin speaks with host Andrew Singer about his poetry and fiction, his editing of the literary journal Levure Littéraire, his artwork and the artistic movement he has founded, called Archetypal Expressionism. Includes poetry with musical compositions.


If you miss these episodes on Sunday, there are two full encores during the week:

Tuesday 21 July – our “eastern” encore: from noon in London (2:30pm in New Delhi, 6pm in Tokyo, 7pm in Sydney)

Thursday 23 July noon in New York (5pm in London)

Episodes may start one minute or more early or late. Please feel free to hang out in our music lounge between shows.
For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X