Trafika Europe Radio, 12 July: The Oulipo, Raymond Queneau, Fabiano Alborghetti, Tess Lewis, Mete Özel, Milo De Angelis


Trafika Europe Radio will see five new audio episodes of their literary livestream this Sunday, 12 July 2020 from noon EDT (5pm in London), with two full encores during the week!

To listen live and to explore their podcast archives.

The complete schedule with show descriptions:

Dalkey Archive Press: Black on White, Ep 09 – The Oulipo, Part 2: Raymond Queneau

Sun 12 July noon EDT (6pm in France) (49 minutes)

The ever-fascinating Warren Motte discusses with publisher John O’Brien three major works by Oulipo founding member Raymond Queneau.


Swiss Literature Today, Ep 09 – Fabiano Alborghetti: Portraits of Absence

Sun 12 July 1pm EDT (6pm in London, 7pm in Switzerland) (45 minutes)

Italian poet Fabiano Alborghetti speaks with host Alta L. Price about his three years dwelling with the undocumented migrants around Milan, and his book of reportage poetry documenting the lives he encountered, Portraits of Absence – available in English translation by Marco Sonzogni and Ross Woods from Guernica Editions. This audio series is made possible with support by the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York and Swiss arts council Pro Helvetia


Women in Translation, Ep 09 – Tess Lewis: on translation

Sun 12 July 2pm EDT (7pm in London, 8pm in Germany) (47 minutes)

Translator Tess Lewis shares insights with host Andrew Singer about her work translating Swiss novelist Jean-Luc Benoziglio’s Privy Portrait from French (published by Seagull Books) and Slovenian Maja Haderlap’s novel Angel of Oblivion from German (out from Archipelago Books). They discuss the role of humor in French culture, differences among the main varieties of German language, and the condition of the Slovenian minority in Austria through the present day. Includes Tess reading an excerpt from Angel of Oblivion, for which she won Austrian Cultural Forum New York’s annual Translation Prize. (This is a reprise of an earlier talk)


Turkish Sofa, Ep 09 – Mete Özel, Turkish poet

Sun 12 July 3pm EDT (8pm in London, 10pm in Turkey) (47 minutes)

Turkish poet and artist Mete Özel speaks with host Erkut Tokman about his life and work. Includes readings of his poetry.


Bowery Poetry Speaks, Ep 09 – Milo De Angelis, Italian poet

Sun 12 July 4pm EDT (9pm in London, 10pm in Italy) (30 minutes)

Milo De Angelis is one of Italy’s preeminent living poets. He speaks with host Andrew Singer in Milan about his poetic influences and style, and with Turkish poet and translator Erkut Tokman, the pair consider issues of translating his poetry into Turkish.


If you miss these episodes on Sunday, there are two full encores during the week:

Tuesday (14 July) from 5am in New York (10am in London), and

Thursday (16 July) from noon in New York (5pm in London)

Episodes may start one minute or more early or late. Please feel free to hang out in our music lounge between shows.
For full schedule and to listen.

Category: Trafika Europe Corner

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X