Man Booker Prize 2015 longlist announced

The longlist, or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, for the £50,000 Man Booker Prize is announced today, Wednesday 29 July 2015.

This year’s longlist of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges chaired by Michael Wood, and also comprising Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, John Burnside, Sam Leith and Frances Osborne. The judges considered 156 books for this year’s prize.

This is the second year that the prize, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was open only to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe.

The 2015 longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, of 13 novels, is: Bill Clegg (US) – ‘Did You Ever Have a Family’ (Jonathan Cape), Anne Enright (Ireland) – ‘The Green Road’ (Jonathan Cape), Marlon James (Jamaica) – ‘A Brief History of Seven Killings’ (Oneworld Publications), Laila Lalami (US) – ‘The Moor’s Account’ (Periscope, Garnet Publishing), Tom McCarthy (UK) – ‘Satin Island’ (Jonathan Cape), Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria) – ‘The Fishermen’ (ONE, Pushkin Press), Andrew O’Hagan (UK) – ‘The Illuminations’ (Faber & Faber), Marilynne Robinson (US) – ‘Lila’ (Virago), Anuradha Roy (India) – ‘Sleeping on Jupiter’ (MacLehose Press, Quercus), Sunjeev Sahota (UK) – ‘The Year of the Runaways’ (Picador), Anna Smaill (New Zealand) – ‘The Chimes’ (Sceptre), Anne Tyler (US) – ‘A Spool of Blue Thread’ (Chatto & Windus), Hanya Yanagihara (US) – ‘A Little Life’ (Picador).

Chair of the 2015 judges, Michael Wood, comments:

“We had a great time choosing this list. Discussions weren’t always peaceful, but they were always very friendly. We were lucky in our companions and the submissions were extraordinary. The longlist could have been twice as long, but we’re more than happy with our final choice.”

“The range of different performances and forms of these novels is amazing. All of them do something exciting with the language they have chosen to use.”

The judges were struck by the international spectrum of the novels, with the longlist featuring three British writers, five US writers and one apiece from the Republic of Ireland, New Zealand, India, Nigeria and Jamaica. Marlon James, who currently lives in Minneapolis, is the first Jamaican-born author to be nominated for the prize. Laila Lalami, now based in Santa Monica but born in Rabat, is the first Moroccan-born.

One former winner, Anne Enright, is longlisted. The Irish writer won the prize in 2007 with ‘The Gathering’. She is joined by two formerly shortlisted British writers: Tom McCarthy (2010, ‘C’) and Andrew O’Hagan (1999, ‘Our Fathers’, and longlisted for ‘Be Near Me’, 2006). US author Marilynne Robinson has been shortlisted for Man Booker International Prize twice, in 2011 and 2013.

There are three debut novelists on the list: Bill Clegg, Chigozie Obioma and Anna Smaill.

Four independent publishers are on the list, with Garnet Publishing and Pushkin Press appearing for the first time.

The shortlist of six books will be announced on Tuesday 15 September at a press conference at the London offices of Man Group, the prize’s sponsor.

The 2015 winner will then be announced on Tuesday 13 October in London’s Guildhall at a black-tie dinner that brings together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the literary world. The ceremony will be broadcast by the BBC.

More information at the Man Booker Prize website.

Category: News and Events


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *