European Union Prize for Literature 2020 Laureates

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from across Europe. During a cycle of three years, the award includes 41 countries participating in the Creative Europe programme – an initiative aiming at strengthening Europe’s cultural and creative sectors. The EUPL was launched in 2009, and since then it has recognised 122 writers, through 11 editions.

We are pleased to announce the thirteen laureates of the 2020 edition:

     •    Nathalie SkowronekLa carte des regrets (The map of regrets), for Belgium (French-speaking)
     •    Lana BastašićUhvati zeca (Catch the rabbit), for Bosnia and Herzegovina
     •    Maša KolanovićPoštovani kukci i druge jezive priče (Dear insects and other scary stories), for Croatia
     •    Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου (Stavros Christodoulou), Τη μέρα που πάγωσε ο ποταμός (The day the river froze), for Cyprus
     •    Asta Olivia NordenhofPenge på lommen (Money in your pocket), for Denmark
     •    Mudlum (Made Luiga), Poola poisid (Polish boys), for Estonia
     •    Matthias NawratDer traurige Gast (The Sad Guest), for Germany
     •    Shpëtim SelmaniLibërthi i dashurisë (The Booklet of Love), for Kosovo*
     •    Francis KirpsDie Mutationen (The Mutations), for Luxembourg
     •    Stefan BoškovićMinistar (Minister), for Montenegro
     •    Петар Андоновски (Petar Andonovski), Страв од варвари (Fear of barbarians), for North Macedonia
     •    Maria Navarro SkarangerBok om sorg (Book of grief), for Norway
     •    Irene SolàCanto jo i la muntanya balla (I sing and the mountain dances), for Spain

The 2020 laureates were selected by a national juries of literary experts. Due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the announcement of the winners was made digitally for the first time since the Prize was launched in 2009. The winning books and authors were revealed in a video published on 19 May 2020 at noon on the EUPL website and social media channels.

The EUPL is organised by a Consortium comprising the European Writers’ Council (EWC), the Federation of European Publishers (FEP), and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), with the support of the European Commission. The award is funded by Creative Europe, and accessible to all countries participating in this EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors.

More information here.

Category: News and EventsNews


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *